You may have heard that Facebook turned on a new feature recently without notifying users - automatic facial recognition. When uploading photos to Facebook, your contacts will now be prompted automatically to tag you in the photos. This is done using a "picture fingerprint" (as the Electronic Frontier Foundation calls it). You may like this - but it is possible to turn it off if you don't like it or are concerned about your security... as I think many activists or civil society practitioners working in Africa should be. Step By Step Instructions are below in a YouTube video or in pictures.

Step By Step YouTube Video from the Electronic Frontier Foundation

Step By Step in Pictures from the Sophos.com Naked Security blog:

There are billions of photographs on Facebook's servers. As your Facebook friends upload their albums, Facebook will try to determine if any of the pictures look like you. And if they find what they believe to be a match, they may well urge one of your Facebook friends to tag it with your name.

The tagging is still done by your friends, not by Facebook, but rather creepily Facebook is now pushing your friends to go ahead and tag you.

Remember, Facebook does not give you any right to pre-approve tags. Instead the onus is on you to untag yourself in any photo a friend has tagged you in. After the fact.

If this is something you're uncomfortable with, disable "Suggest photos of me to friends" now.

Here's how you do it.

* Go to your Facebook account's privacy settings.

* Click on "Customise settings".

* Under "Things others share" you should see an option titled "Suggest photos of me to friends. When photos look like me, suggest my name".

* Unfortunately at this point you can't tell whether Facebook has enabled the setting or not, you have to dig deeper..

* Click on "Edit settings".

Facebook privacy setting

* If Facebook has enabled auto-suggestion of photo tags you will find the option says "Enabled".

Facebook privacy setting

* Change it to "Disabled" if you don't want Facebook to work that way.

* Press "OK".

User login

Forgot password?